Posted by: leigh | January 21, 2013

from below baseline back up to zero

amazingly, it took about four months for my evil awesome physical therapist to get the pain out of my life. there was a period where there was more pain- a LOT more pain. continuing on seemed like it would be worse than just settling for what i had been dealing with for so many years. but i kept on, 6-7 days a week at home and 2-3 hours a week in the PT office.

apparently my dedication to getting through this is unique among PT patients, but here we are. i am holding my own and don’t need much intervention from evil awesome PT anymore.

it has been years since i have felt even “okay” – much less good. a good week was one in which i had little to complain about. but this. this is not something i even remember. it’s entirely different, and i’m still not used to it. but from here i have to keep building up on my own.

i haven’t been able to run without debilitating pain since the late 90s. just typing that kind of blows my mind. so now i have to reclaim the running, for real this time. it’s time to get the strength back, no limitations.

Responses

  1. A number of years ago I had an accident that caused significant physical trauma, and spent about a year in physical therapy. I will be forever grateful to the intern, a big butch girl who was not only dishing the PT but receiving it due to a rugby injury. She guided though my own pain with deftness and seriousness of purpose, and as a consequence I can walk and even run.

    I’ll never forget her.

  2. @Spiny – We heard stories like yours all the time. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

