Posted by: leigh | October 22, 2012

physical therapy. aka hell

i’ve made a number of failed attempts to take back some aspects of my life that i lost a long time ago.

once upon a time, i was a pretty epic halfback on the soccer field. i ran like the wind. once upon a time, a little bit later than this, i had a lot stolen from me without apology. and despite having all manner of medical practitioners’ opinions, alternative treatment modalities, and shovels full of drugs thrown my way, i never got it back. all the king’s horses and all the king’s men, and what have you. the false hope (oh and working my ass off in a shitty retail job to afford the medical treatment, so i could physically tolerate the work i had to do to pay for said medical treatment) assailed my spirit and the conveniently prescribed drugs were probably the wrong way to cope with it. the “passage of time” – aka wait it out- method wasn’t particularly helpful either.

and so on several occasions in the last however many years, i said fuck this, i’m going to try running again. on the same number of occasions, i finally admitted defeat because it sucks to try to go about life in that kind of pain and quite simply, i don’t wanna do it again. i had also carefully tracked down my medical records and discovered that most of my practitioners effectively washed their hands of me very early on, citing that i did not want to improve. (alright, i was an angry and headstrong young person but to think i preferred to live in that hell is mystifying.) highly discouraging.

but then there is the physical therapist i met a few months ago. and she was great so i thought i’d give it another shot. i have some additional pressure, the job i want to have next is contingent on me meeting some physical requirements.

let me tell you. reversing almost half a lifetime worth of structural problems is difficult. and it involves a lot of new pains when i had already figured out the workarounds to keep the comfort level acceptably high. but my PT tells me we can do this if i can work through the temporary soreness. and she doesn’t wash her hands of me because i have a bad week or don’t make as much progress as i’d hoped.

don’t call me optimistic, but i’ll give it a try.


Responses

  1. Rooting for you!

  2. Many thanks, hope this time I gain some better footholds.

  3. Congrats on finding one of the good ones! There are way too many bad to mediocre people in my field. Please feel free to ask me any questions.

  4. Wish I had your level of determination, Leigh! I am still trying to get up the motivation to get back to yoga (all the while knowing how much good it does) after having a frozen shoulder. Best of luck – sounds like you have a good PT, which helps too – keep up the good work, you are going to need it as your son grows!

  5. Sean, my first couple of PTs were terribly mediocre. They had me doing almost the exact opposite of what my current PT is doing. And they wondered why I wasn’t springing back. Sigh. Thanks!

    Baloo, thanks! If I can do it, you can do it too. :) And you’ve identified another big motivator (my little guy).

  6. Have you looked in to trigger points? They were a godsend for my chronic pain issues when physical therapy and everything else had failed: http://saveyourself.ca/tutorials/trigger-points.php


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

